OX66 O2 Sensor Check

pbmang

Cadet
My motor has been stalling on me at low RPM's. I talked to the local Yamaha mechanic and he said there is a yellow wire on the ECM that I could unplug and cause the ECM to ignore the sensors and run a default map. If the motor quit stalling, then I would know it was a sensor or ECM issue. I pulled the wire and wa-la, it ran without stalling.

Next, I pulled the O2. I had cleaned it about 2 months ago, so it was in good shape, but I cleaned it again anyway. I reinstalled it this AM, and the same issue. Next I decided to hook up my meter to it to see if I could get a reading. From my understanding you hook into the grey/black wires going to the ECU, correct?

The way I did it was to use two wire splices. Yamaha techs, take a look and see if you think this setup would give me a reading. I switched the ends of the meter between the wires and it never moved from 0. Either I have a bad connection or a totally dead O2 sensor. Since I am not an electrician by any means, I wanted to ask the forum to see if you guys to could something I may have done wrong, and would cause the meter to not read any voltage.

IMG_20101023_170216.jpg

IMG_20101023_170229.jpg

Thanks
Chris

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner
Re: OX66 O2 Sensor Check

find a real tech.
replace the now defective O2 sensor.
NEVER cut into a sensor wire, it leads to failure.
NEVER run the engine with the O2 sensor removed.
when you place the ECU in bypass mode it fixs ign timeing at 7*BTDC,fixs fuel rich and is stupid, cant test anything that way.
takes 10-15 seconds to use the diagnostic test lamp to check for any sensor codes.
no codes no worries.
the O2 sensor has NO codes unplug it and fuel is fixed rich at low speeds and lean above 4000 RPM. DO NOT run above 4000 RPM with a defective or unplugged O2 sensor.
so you destroyed an O2 sensor and ran it in bypass mode.its just to simple to use paper clips and back probe the connector.
what did it tell you?