Your opinions sought

Carl_Spackler

Recruit
Hey Guys,

I've been lurking on the board for a while and was hoping to get your opinion on a Craig's List ad for a boat. I'm a newbie. Not only to the forum but to boating as well. Please read the ad below and tell me your honest opinion. Is this boat worth pursuing or am I asking for trouble? He wants $9,500.00

"2006 Sea Pro Dual Console, 150 HP Mercury Verado 4Stroke, Stainless Prop, Hydrolic Steering, Rear Bench Seats, Storage & Console for Toilet, Boat took on water at dock and was pumped out, motors completely cleaned and flushed cranks and will run needs new harness, already installed new key switch, benical control, bilge pumps work, boat looks almost new"

I called the guy - he works at a boat yard, and he told me the boat was laid over on its side against the dock - which I didn't even think was possible, anyway, he said the bimini top was bent but probably workable and I could spend $800 to $1,200 on a wiring harness and she'd be ready to go.

In your opinion, are boats that have "taken on water" worth the trouble?

Thanks in advance for any insight.

JimS123

Fleet Admiral
Re: Your opinions sought

Been there, done that and won't go there again. That's my opinion.

First of all I would never buy ANYTHING that was not running. Let the previous owner buy the harness and fix it before he sells it.

I once had a 2-stroke sink. It was flushed and rebuilt and never ran the same. Several different mechanics worked on it before we finally dumped it at a great loss. Since this is a 4-stroke you may get different opinions.

perchin

Petty Officer 1st Class

run away!!!!! you are exactly the guy they are looking to sell this thing to.;)

There are far to many variables to consider...... seeing that's the case I wouldn't pay that much for it anyways.

If you have 10,000 dollars to spend there are plenty of good condition and mechanically perfect boats to be had....

Dave1251

Petty Officer 2nd Class