Enough Horsepower?

bsmith95610

Recruit
I am looking at buying a used 2001 19' Bayliner Sport boat. It has a 4 cylinder engine that puts out 135hp. I am wondering if this boat will be fast enough to pull a water skier on two ski's or 1 ski, or a tuber, or a wake boarder. I weight about 225 lbs. so I don't know if the boat will have enough power to pull me out of the water. I am just a beginner so sorry if this is a dumb question. I looked at other thread but I didn't see any for a boat with the same HP. Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

'96 Charger

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Water skiing Horse Power?

It will do just fine.

12vMan

Lieutenant Commander

That boat will do the trick for a slalom skier your weight providing it's running good, but most likely not without stepping down the prop pitch.
You can swap out the props pretty quick on those, so you may want to think about a 15 X 15 'tractor prop' which will pull like you need and give you a max speed of about 32-34mph at sea level which is a good pull speed.
That prop will work with all the toys, and you can switch it out with your standard prop for cruising and have a spare.

Alumarine

Captain

At 225 I think it will have trouble pulling you up if you start on one ski from the water.

If you start on 2 then drop one - no problem.

mxfever

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Horsepower Question