new to outboards

jdangler

Recruit
I am new to outboard motors and boating in general, I bought a bass boat with an 81 evinrude 50hp electric start motor on it...took it the lake a couple of times and it ran great...last weekend motor would start and run but would die as soon as it went into gear...after doing quite a bit of searching thru the forum I am compiling a list of things to look at on the motor and it won't die when the ignition switch is turned off

buy manual
rebuild carbs
adjust idle rpm
check compression
replace spark plugs (done)
replace fuel line and primer bulb (done)

after reading several of the threads on the forum this is what I have come up with if anyone has anything else to suggest I am all ears

jdangler

Recruit
Re: new to outboards

manual purchased, thanks for the link

do I need to do the impeller the motor "pees" quite hard

RadarRick

Petty Officer 2nd Class

If you're still in boating season, I wouldn't rush to replace it as long as you watch it often to ensure good tell tale flow.

However, if you don't know when it was last replaced, it's worth doing as it could fail anytime, leaving you with much bigger problems.

Maybe a winter project?

Kit_B

Seaman Apprentice

I know this may seem nuts, but how old is your gas?
Air or fuel filter?
I wouldn't jump to modifying the expensive stuff, before you think about all the little things.

OptsyEagle

Lieutenant

manual purchased, thanks for the link

do I need to do the impeller the motor "pees" quite hard

Yes. An impeller needs to be replaced when it is "working great", since the alternative is for it to fail, overheat your motor and blow a gasket, cylinder or both.

Once you know when it was replaced, I tend to give them about 5 years before I replace them again. Others tend to have even shorter schedules for it.

jdangler

Recruit

I know this may seem nuts, but how old is your gas?
Air or fuel filter?