Need Trailer Advice

Tim25

Recruit
I'm a total newbie to boating....Never had one. A family member is giving me a 19' 6" inboard/outboard (2900 lb dry), but it doesn't have a trailer. I want to buy a good, safe, legal, long-lasting suitable trailer and really have no experience with the various options. I started off searching for trailers to buy and now I'm a bit lost in C-channels vs tube; aluminum vs. galv vs. painted, single vs. dual axle, etc. I'd really appreciate some recommendations / pointers to a good set of configurations from a reputable manufacturer...oh...and without completely breaking the bank.

Bifflefan

Commander
Re: Need Trailer Advice

I'm a total newbie to boating....Never had one. A family member is giving me a 19' 6" inboard/outboard (2900 lb dry), but it doesn't have a trailer. I want to buy a good, safe, legal, long-lasting suitable trailer and really have no experience with the various options. I started off searching for trailers to buy and now I'm a bit lost in C-channels vs tube; aluminum vs. galv vs. painted, single vs. dual axle, etc. I'd really appreciate some recommendations / pointers to a good set of configurations from a reputable manufacturer...oh...and without completely breaking the bank.

Most single axles trailers have 3000 lb axles under them, so a single will be at its upper limit to haul a 2900 lb boat. Add gear and gas and your over.
A 3500 lb single axle or a tandem axle will do a better job. Down side is twice as much to take care of.
Box tube are the best ones, C channels are flimsy.
Alum in cool but expensive and only needed to save weight. If you in salt water a galvanized is your best bet, fresh water, painted is fine.
Then your down to roller or bunk. There is no clear winner here. Each have their pros and cons. Bunks are easier to set up for your boat correctly but a roller is easier in shallow water. Both work well and I think its a matter of what you like.

dockwrecker

Lieutenant