TOTAL Newbie caught the Fever!

threepeatpete

Recruit
Hi all,

Went in to our local Bass Pro shop looking at fishing gear and came out wanting a boat ? we definitely caught the fever. All they had at BP were Tahoes (from the limited posts that I?ve searched for here they seem not to be a preferred brand??), but they sure did look nice in the showroom (We particularly liked one of their deck boats, I believe it was model 215). We are in no rush to make a purchase and we?re planning on going to some local boat shows over the winter to see the different makes, models, styles, and prices?.

Like the title says, I?m a total newbie ? besides bugging you all daily with questions is there a website I can go to that will describe the differences between a deck boat, a bow rider, and a cuddy cabin? I?m sure it all depends on what you?ll be using it for, so here goes. We?re a family of 5 (and would like to be able to also squeeze in some occasional guests), and while skiing is probably not something we?ll be doing, tubing may be. My son wants to be able to fish, and my daughters just want to cruise around. We live in Northern VA and have access to lakes, as well as the Potomac and Rappahannock Rivers and the Chesapeake Bay. I don?t really have a budget in mind yet, however realistically I won?t be looking to spend a fortune while at the same time I don?t want to buy something too cheap that I?ll need to trade in after a few years.

Any and all advice you all can throw my way is much appreciated!!!

Thanks!
Pete

ziggy

Admiral
Re: TOTAL Newbie caught the Fever!

we definitely caught the fever.
cool, it's easy to catch.. ;)
from the limited posts that I?ve searched for here they seem not to be a preferred brand??
personally, i like the look of tahoes. that said. there was one post on iboats that a poor tahoe owner had a brand new boat and a stringer started coming out the side of the boat. he got a lot of grief before tahoe fixed it. that soured me on tahoe..