1965 Evinrude Big Twin

Finster

Cadet
Hello Everyone,
Long story short. Grandmother asked if I wanted boat about 5 years ago, it was her's and granpa's. I said yes and took it with the intention of restoring it the best I could and getting it running. I know very little about engines, ignitions or basically anything "motor" related. But really wanted the challenge. I am a support analyst for a well known software company and knowing that I can find a lot of information online, I assumed I had the integrity and access to information, so this should not be to bad. Allow me to humbly admit defeit and beg for the help of the knowledgable. I have drawn "poor" diagrams of items I have questions about. I figure you would need the visual aids considering my description of things may not be very easy to understand.
Ok so right to my first question. I have questions all the way from the ignition to the battery/Engine, but I will start at ignition.
The original ignition and starting button was in bad shape so I wanted to replace them. I replaced with a newer ignition where you need only turn clockwise to engage the starting motor. I read online that the OEM switch has two black wires that are actually used to kill the engine. Considering the newer igition switchs do not have the prongs to accomodate this, I elected to install a pushbutton kill switch. Is there a better idea for this? I'll let this be my first question. IN addition, I think I have these wires done correctly, and the green seems to go to one side of the silenoid making it positive? Keep in mind the two black will go to a switch.. I am also unsure as the the brown one, it wasnt hooked up to the old ignition. Thoughts??? Ill show you the silenoid side next..I know, I'm a goof!
lgnition.jpg

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1965 Evinrude Big Twin