suspected fuel pump problems with Mercruiser 4.3 liter MPI Alpha Stern Drive

jbrittmartin

Recruit
i'm a noob here so please forgive my noobness.

i have a 2005 San Pan 2500RE triple pontoon boat with a Mercruiser 4.3 liter MPI Alpha Stern Drive with approximately 140 hours on her. the spark plugs were replaced when i had her winterized last fall.

the engine model #: 4-24106LT T
the engine serial #: OW328141

backstory:

-she ran great out the gate this season. towards the end of the first tank of gas (which was left in her all winter... very bad, i know, i know) the engine stopped starting.
-i treated the tank with Yamalube Fuel Stabilizer and Ring Free Additive and added more gas.
-the engine eventually started and ran through that half tank and another whole tank treated with Sta-Bil. i did notice some performance issues... occasional sputtering and some hinderance at the top end of the throttle... just wasn't hitting the higher RPMs like it used to.
-a couple weeks ago my brother in law took the boat out with an extremely low fuel level. he did not check the fuel gauge and ran it out of gas. the engine hasn't started since, though turnover is fine. i assume all kinds of crud was sucked into the system.

-my father poured some gas into the chamber below the plastic air filter cover. the engine would start, but would stop as soon as that gas was consumed. the line running to that chamber was bone dry.
-i replaced the fuel filter. i also accessed the top of the fuel tank and removed the supply line that drops into the tank. the line and screen filter on the end were both blockage free. i removed the main supply line from the tank to the fuel filter. it was also blockage free.

my local dealer is backed up for several months. the engine compartment is VERY cramped... it's hard to even see the fuel pump, much less get to it. i'm am not a mechanic by any means but i'd like to try anything else i can short of pulling the engine and replacing the fuel pump.