454 Running Hot???

2ifbyc

Seaman
I have a 1990 Mercruiser 454 Bravo 3. I got it last year. It has been running great all summer. Just this week I had an alarm go off in the dash. I noticed that the temp gauge was much higher than usual. I let it cool off before restarting it and it dropped back down again. It has been doing the same thing since. Seems to run fine at idle and lower speeds but when i open it up the gauge begins to rise after 10 mins or so. Normally it dosent move from the 100-125 degree area but lately its been going up over 150 and 175 so i shut it down and let it cool off before starting it again. Any ideas? Never had any problems before. What should I check first? Im assuming its an obvious thing but I'm new at this. Thanks Guys!!!

BAproject

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 454 Running Hot???

Well, those running temperatures don't seem very high, But I could take a guess and say that the impeller in the outdrive is starting to go

2ifbyc

Seaman

Just had a Brand new 2010 bravo 3 outdrive installed this season. Could it be the raw water pump on the engine?

Philster

Captain

It doesn't seem to have a thermostat in it if she is running below 140 (bad news for the engine internals). I would think 160-175 is the most normal operating range, with 180 after a hard run.

First suspect when running hot is the impeller. Especially if you don't know the age/condition.

2ifbyc

Seaman

How would I check if it has a thermostat? And if it doesnt should I put one in? Either way its running hotter than usual so should i replace the water pump? Arent there a few different types of water pumps? Which one needs fixin?

Philster

Captain