Terminology Questions.....???

kurtaiden

Cadet
This forum is great! Im learning so much and enjoy it. Ive been reading threads for hours just because it interests me even though the thread does not pertain to the issue I am having with my outboard.

So Ive come across a few terms I dont understand. Yes, I could google them but I'm sure you pros would have a much better explanation.

So apparently there are two kinds of outboards. "loopers" and "crossflows". What does this mean and what are the differences and pros/cons? How can I tell which one my outboard is?

Secondly, Ive read and seen several threads mentioning "reeds" in regards to the carbs. What is this and what do they do?

Thanks. Im hungry for knowledge.

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: Terminology Questions.....???

Only stupid question is the one not asked as the saying goes....

Im no pro, but will try my best to explain without using too many big words that need more explaining, lol.

The reeds, or leaf plates, are a one way check valve per se. They must seal the crankcase pressure or the air/fuel mixture will be pushed back through the intake (carbs) and then "spitting" fuel outwards, which you may notice if you remove the carb face plate.

They allow the air to be sucked in through the carb to the crankcase during piston movement, yet seal it tight during combustion.

Cross flows have an irregular shaped piston top. It is called a deflector. This deflector directs the incoming air/fuel up, towards the top of the cylinder. This creates a wall or column of fresh mix that sweeps across the cylinder towards the exhaust ports. As the column advances it pushes the spent exhaust gases out of the exhaust ports.