blowers/vapors

Before I start my engineI/O in the morning I use the blowers or open the cover to let any fumes out -- do I need to do this during the day if I am drifting and shuting engine and starting or if I am anchored for a period of Time I am new to I/O always had outboards--Thanks

tylerin

Commander
Re: blowers/vapors

Yes. I do. Especially at the gas pumps. Any doubt blow it out

magster65

Commander

Catchy phrase :) <br />It's also recommended you use your blower at slower speeds because the air doesn't circulate as well.

GodsBeast

Chief Petty Officer

MassTerran, I just purchased my I/O on July 3rd, and new to them also. I turn my blower on everytime before starting. If I were ever in the position that I thought my battery capacity would be low, I might would raise the large outside cover for a couple of minutes before trying to start without the blower. But, I do not INTEND to get into that position. In fact, when backing the trailer in for launching, My wife is in the boat, I have her raise the seat and the smaller inside cover to the motor, and she runs the blower before starting the engine for the first time. <br /> If I remember correctly the manual states to run the blower before starting every time. I would think after running on the river and stopping for a time period, then restarting, that would be the most dangerous time to try to start without the blower, because fumes could build up after that first running time, and or a potential fuel leak or problem that may develop during that initial run. <br /> With all that said, I would still check your Manuel index for (Blower) and double check. <br /> I wouldn't take the chance without the Blower, all it takes is one K-Boom, and it's too late. <br /><br /> Use the blower, it can't suck that much battery juice and its safer!<br /><br />GodsBeast

snapperbait

Vice Admiral

5 min before starting and anything less that a plaining or crusing speed; Blower on...

Bondo

Staff member