Did I buy the wrong trailer

Johnny Be Cool

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I have a 1990 Regal Ambassador 233 XL Cabin Cruiser.

I am borrowing a friends 20' Tahoe trailer that is used for a Bass Boat.
I just bought a Continental trailer. It measures 24' from ball to the rear cross member. The width between the fenders is 60".

I don't know but after I got it home and started to really look at things, it looks too narrow or is that an optical illusion.

The seller said he had a 24' Cabin Cruiser on it. He bought the Boat and trailer, kept the trailer, motor & outdrive, the boat was trashed.

I really don't care for the poles sticking up, I rebuilding the 2 x 4's that are carpeted and bolt horizontal on top of the poles, the 2x4's are 3' in the rear and 1 1/2' in the front.

The boat is suppose to rest on the center of the frame rollers and the 2x4's keep it for balance.

My concern is this, is it too narrow and the boat will tip over or am I being too cautious. I could add bunk rails.

Here's a picture of my boat and the new trailer (1986).

What do you think?

ZBoat.jpg

July232010004.jpg

nlain

Commander
Re: Did I buy the wrong trailer

I would put bunks under that boat, you have to hit dead center to get it to rest on the rollers, it will also lean to one side or the other unless the side boards are a form fit. You need bunks to hold the load.

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner

I would not say you bought the wrong trailer, but I think you could have done better. You have some work to do on it. The trailer is rugged--all channel iron construction--but now, with a 24 foot boat on a 24 foot trailer (from ball) you are still going to have a good bit of overhang at the stern. Remember that the winch post will take at lease a foot.