Marine carburetor; different from a car?

erick11s

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I have a stock engine 454 from a car, put in my Boat, and many people told me that i have to change the carburetor and the camshaft, because its different and it does not work well on the Boat..IS IT TRUE? do I have to Change it??? and what other parts??? What I can do?:confused::confused:

Thanks in advance for any comments
Erick

LAC_STS

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: Marine carburetor; different from a car?

Well its not going to last long.

I'm no expert but I would think that the cam would not be high on the list.

The starter, alt, and carb are must be marine items for sfety reasons.

Some people have bent the tubes on some carbs so that the vent excess fuel back into the carb and not int the engine compartment of your boat, but even then Im sure if you look it up there are differences in the jets, meetering rods, and springs in your auto carb and a marine carb.

What kind of carb do you have on there?

All of the lectronics have to be marine versions so they dont spark and explode.

All maine starters, alts, and dists are sealed or some other crap that makes them safe.

Ruddell

Cadet

On most marine carbs the set up is changed so any excess fuel is dumped into the carb to choke it out and avoid it getting into the bilge.

Someone please correct me if I am wrong.

erick11s

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Thanks my friend..the carburator is a quadrajet 4 barrel

LAC_STS

There are other differences. It may run good set as an auto carb but it will run its best as a marine carb.

I know on an edelbrock the secondary air butterflies have a lighter counter weight because there is less vacuum on a marine applicatioin sometimes.

And the jets, and meetering rods are a step richer on the marine version.

Lyle29464

Lieutenant