1973 Mercury 850 Thunderbolt dies out when installing the fuel line.......

SHOWOFF

Recruit
First off this is my first post, boat, and motor. I have just bought a 1973 Larson Shark 1650 with a Mercury 850 Thunderbolt. I am no mechanic by trade but am very mechanically inclined. With that being said he we go!!!

FYI I have had my boat out 10 time prior with no problems until today. I am just about to launch so I go to connect my twist connect fuel line and place the choke in the middle where I normally do to start. I crank it over and nothing happens but then it fires, ruff idles for 10 seconds, and dies.

I increase the choke and squeeze the bulb a few more times but still with the same effect. I thought I might have flooded the engine? However I noticed gas coming out from under my engine just next to the gas line on the right like I have a leak in the tubing. In fact it is like a steady stream pouring out.

So I take off the fuel line to inspect it, but I see no leaks. The tubing actually looks pretty new in fact all the way down to the gas tank. Since I thought I might have flooded it I tried to start it after the fuel stopped leaking and sure enough no problem runs like a champ. I go to put the fuel line back on and it dies almost instantly.

Seriously I must have did this 5 times with every time having the same outcome. I finally got so frustrated :mad: I pulled my boat back out of the water.

I have read a few posts and some say it might be the floats are stuck open and the gas just dumps in the carburetor flooding the engine????

Any Ideas??? Thanks in advance..... :D

chum1

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 1973 Mercury 850 Thunderbolt dies out when installing the fuel line.......

does fuel bulb get firm or does it just pump up and leak down immediately, I would investigate fuel connection from your post maybe a faulty connection or connector. the choke on my 77" 850 is a solenoid on or off. I have found this engine loves fuel and is pretty hard to flood.