Can you pressure wash interior of a boat?

BJ1

Cadet
I recently bought a 98 Larson 186 SEI as my first boat. The carpet has some stains on it and the interior need a good cleaning. Whats the best way to go about this? I've read you can pressure wash the carpet, but I'm new to boating and I am paranoid about any water getting on the carpet. Let me know what you guys do!

-BJ

vegasphotoman

Lieutenant
Re: Can you pressure wash interior of a boat?

I woulnd't pressure wash it...thats my 2 cents

(water all inside your boat...might even tear up your carpet if its not in the best condition).... an auto detailer place can steam clean it for you..... for a song... or use your shop vac and a some soapy water spritzed from a spray bottle etc...scrub...suck it up. :D

mebbe one of your pals or neighbors has a carpet cleaner machine that they own (we got one for instance) it isn't industrial but it gets the job done...cleans up general dirt real nice

good luck!

vegasphotoman

Lieutenant

ps Congrat son the new to you Larson and welcome to Iboats!

paultjohnson

Lieutenant Commander

I rented a rug doctor to do my house carpets $25 for 24 hrs I also rented the small hand attachment for another $5. That little sucker worked wonders {hand attachment} Killed 3 birds with one stone House carpets, Pick up truck and boat carpets. Has an injector and extractor. That is an option FYI You are supposed to put the boat in the water- not the water in the boat!!! I think a pressure washer would force water into places you dont really want it and it doesnt extract anything Try the Rug Doc!

109jb

Lieutenant Commander