johnson 9.5hp 1965 outboard?

adrn13

Cadet
So I just got a johnson 9.5hp 1965 outboard. I paid $350 for it. It was in ok condition. I got home and I put new plugs and clean the carb of it. I got it on a barrel and I didnt started I put some gas on the carb and it started right on I notice that the carb wasnt getting enough gas so I cut the floater a little and it started right on. I have some experience on small engines so it wasnt to hard. anyways my first question is do yall think I paid too much for it? and does anyone know what size or prop and what kind should I get for? I dis has a prop but It has some dings on it and I want to replace it.
Thank yall.

Rick.

Captain
Re: johnson 9.5hp 1965 outboard?

Well this is not the time to ask if you paid too much. You already own it so lets not dwell on that. I would recommend you do a compression test as soon as possible. If that checks out then it is worth investing more money into it. Don't look for high numbers as much as even numbers. It will be well under 100 but as long as they are within 10% you should be fine. Let us know what you find. "so I cut the floater a little" made me laugh out loud. I don't think anyone will know what you mean, but for sure I don't. Eventually you should get a factory service manual for it but again check your compression first. Have a look at this site to see parts. I think it only goes back to 68 or so but that will be close enough to view parts as those 9.5's don't have too many changes over the years. If ordering parts just give the dealer your model number and they will find the right part numbers for your engine. Best of luck. I hope it brings you years of enjoyment which it should. Rick.

adrn13

Cadet

Im sorry I didnt noticed that. It probably was my spell checker. I meant I cut the float. I tried to adjust the float pin and needle but the float was to big so I cut a part of it. I ran it today and it ran just fine.

Rick.

Captain