Fun at the Ramp

Mr Crabbs

Petty Officer 1st Class
Now, this isn't a rant, just a funny look at the antics at the ramp yesterday. :) I'm very new to this so I pay close attention

Six of us go out to Caeser Creek Lake yesterday, about 1:00. The lake is a small one, less than 3000 acres and has five locations you can put your boat in.

The lake and ramp are quiet, there are only 3 empty trailers in the parking lot where we put in, pretty much what you would expect for a Thursday afternoon. We pull up, start to ready the boat. A guy with 3 kids pulls up behind me with a 21' shallow v and readys his boat.

I get done first, put my toon in on the left ramp. The right ramp is open, so where does Mr. shallow v put in, but right next to me on the left ramp.

When I return from parking the trailer, he's gone and has left his kids in charge of his boat which is not tied off. :eek: The kiddies almost let it drift into my toon and my sons fiance ends up going over to the other dock to tie his boat off.

Since he has me pinched in we have to push away from the ramp. This is only my 4th time putting a boat in, so I tuck this little lesson away. We go out onto the lake, ground the boat on a sandbar by a little island and have a great afternoon swimming, sunning on the beach and feeding fish potato chip crumbs. We make plans to return with a grill, firewood and bag chairs and make a day of it later this month.