(UPDATE) Elec. Fuel Pump hanging on a rope

Johnny Be Cool

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I have a 1990 233 XL Regal Ambassador, with a 5.7 Mercruiser. The engine has been replaced some time ago. I recently purchased this boat and was in the process of solving a problem. While skimming through this site and reading other post, it dawned on me that the next time I was in the engine compartment, that the fuel pump (looks like a fuel filter w/ two wires coming out of it) was attached to the carb by a high presure threaded end hose, the other of the pump had a regular car rubber fuel line with hose clamps attached it and to the gas tank.

Due to the fuel combustion sensitivity, I've seen on this post more secure fuel lines with a water seperater. I did fine a water seperater that must of been taken off of the old motor. The new motor does not have the opening for a mech pump. To make matters worse, the fuel pump was strung up in the air so that it wouldn't vibrate against the stringer. One of the wires to the pump has a 10 amp fuse and is attached to (S) side of the starter solenoid.

I've read something like it had to be on the (R) terminal of the solenoid and something to do with an oil sending unit.

Please tell me the correct way to make this work.
Thanks.

Last edited:

Johnny Be Cool

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Elec. Fuel Pump FOUND hanging by on a rope

Can someone tell me the right way this is installed.

Blk-n-Blu

Master Chief Petty Officer

You mentioned that the engine has been replaced. It would be a good idea to find the serial# of the engine and post them. Then someone might be able to help.

6meter

Chief Petty Officer

The S terminal has 12v when the key is in the start position only. The R terminal has 12v when the key is in the run position. The power to the pump should go through the oil pressure switch basicly.

Johnny Be Cool

Petty Officer 2nd Class