1978 70hp Merc Stored for 5yrs +

Jarometn

Cadet
Hello,

I'm new to Outboards but I'm mechanically inclined.
I've just been given a 15'6" Hourston Glass Craft with a 1978 70 HP Merc Thunderbolt on it. Its been parked outdoors for 5+yrs and I started it for the first time today with ears on, It ran quite well considering. I ran Sea Foam in the first tank of gas and let it run for about 20 Min. I noticed that when I would bring the RPMs up to about 3000 my Gage would drop off to 1000 and it would start to stumble a bit. Water flows very well out the cooling tube. It will stall intermitantly at idle.

Is this normal ?

Any suggestions of things I should be looking at before I go out for my first run? The hull is in very good shape but I'm concerned about the engine.

Thank you for any suggestions and help you may have!

:)

SeaKaye12

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: 1978 70hp Merc Stored for 5yrs +

Hi J,

So much depends on the condition it was in when it was put away, and what sort of lay-up procedures were followed.

Typically a lot of people here are going to suggest that you clean the carburetors and replace the waterpump impeller. Then drain and replace the lower unit oil.

Cleaning the carbs means taking them off the engine and taking them completely apart in order to soak the parts in cleaner. That's a lot of work and might not be necessary if they were clean when the engine was laid-up.

The waterpump impeller by comparison is a simple job and it would be hard to argue against doing that. Although you've verified that water flow is adequate so I guess you could run it for a while.

I would also replace the lower unit oil because that's a super-easy job and lower units aren't cheap :)

When you say that the gauge drops to 1000k; I'm not sure what you mean. The tach (gauge???) drops but the RPM's don't??? That's odd. You might have a rectifier problem or tach problem brewing.

BTW....not a good idea to rev much above idle on the muffs.