Help FD 10 1956 15 hp Johnson

abibergall

Cadet
Please help I am a novice I have a Johnson model FD 10. I bought this motor with pressure tank for $75. I rebuilt the carb with a carb kit I bought. I replaced the main gasket, the float the float pin and cleaned the carb parts real good. I put it back together and I simply cant get it to run more than about 30 seconds. I set the low speed setting to 2.5 turns out and the high speed to .75 turns.

I am looking for any advice on best practice for starting the motor and to make sure there is nothing basic that I did wrong when I rebuilt the carb. Is there a way to set the float or the float pin that goes in under the float?

Sorry if these are dumb questions I really want to get this thing running.

Daviet

Fleet Admiral
Re: Help FD 10 1956 15 hp Johnson

Will it keep running if you keep pushing the primer on the tank while it is running?

abibergall

Cadet

Tried that does not seem to help. I checked the tank and it seems to hold good pressure. I think this is the case because when I loosen the cap it makes a pssst like sound etc. I also replaced the gas lines with new today. I got it to run for about a min. but it always dies. I actually have open blisters from pull starting this thing about 1000 times. i will not give up just give me advice and thanks to all that help.

lindy46

Captain

If you have good compression and spark, then there is some crud still in the carb. Did you remove the welch plug from the top of the carb and clean the openings under there? Replaced gas lines on both motor and tank? I just went through the same situation on the same motor I tuned up for a friend. It ran great for me when on my tank. My friend took the motor home, hooked it up to his tank and started having similar problems. It would run for a few minutes and then quit. I took the carb apart again and it was full of crud - crud coming from his tank! Cleaned out his tank and replaced the gas lines, and no more problems.

1946Zephyr