Just bought my first Starcraft! 1962

It's a mess but I think it has potential. It's a 16' with a 75 hp Evinrude. I will probably be bugging a lot of you in the coming month's. I'm a newbie. Probably won't get started on it till fall (winter). Motor needs some work. Probably take care of that first. I want to put it in the water and take her for a spin. Then, begin. I'll get pics up as soon as I figure this forum out. Once I do, please take a gander and let me know what you think. You ideas and advice are welcomed. Even if it's to tell me to get rid of it, now! lol Well, better get off of here for now. My wife is not as excited about it as I am. Is that normal?? Looking forward to the rebuild. Hope I am up for the challenge.

Photo0336.jpg

Photo0339.jpg

Photo0338.jpg

Last edited:

bananaboater

Ensign
Re: Just bought my first Starcraft! 1962

Welcome to the Starmada. That's what I did, took it out a couple times before starting. Don't hesitate to ask us about your restore. We will tell you what we did, good or bad. You might have a Jupiter, if not I will be corrected soon. :D

We like to know where in general folks are. Sometimes you will find another SCer close by, I have visited two fellow restorers. Noticed the KY license. Lived there for 25 years. You can add your location in your profile if you want.

Albert

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

Looks like a Jupiter to me! Check out the link to my Jupiter project in my signature below for some ideas. Nice looking boat. It will really be a head turner with that classic Evinrude on it if you can get that going. Welcome to the forum and the Starmada.

Please resize your pictures to 640x480. You can do that in photobucket with a single click.

Huron Angler

Admiral

If it is a Starmist as you mentioned in the Show us your Starcraft thread...then the 1962 brochure has a picture of your rig with the same vintage Evinrude:D