no propel

dayfloater

Cadet
hello all and thanks if you respond well its been a rough day a float but it wasnt too long before help towed us back to marina, before all this boat was doing fine took a short break in a cove when we went to leave put it in forward gear and heard a loud pop, now that we made it home safely from what i can see the main engine driveshaft isnt turning :mad: forward/reverse is this a hard fix? what has to be removed engine or outboard im lost, boat is a 1985 galaxy mercruiser 190 4cly 4bbl inboard/outboard UPDATE i removed the outdrive thingy/unit splines are wiped out on the engine side what is this part called? i assume its like a clutch but im not sure any help with this issue would be great

Last edited:

Bondo

Staff member
Re: no propel

UPDATE i removed the outdrive thingy/unit splines are wiped out on the engine side what is this part called?

Ayuh,... The Coupler....

dayfloater

Cadet

yeah just what i was thinking, im new to the boating thing, i got boat from a friend 4 months ago we had it out prolly a dozen times finally getting the rythm of things and now i got to pull the engine to continue my enjoyment ahahaa this may take awhile thanks bondo for your time and very usefull/detailed help :p

dayfloater

Cadet

ok just to give all bad update i just got off phone with a repair shop who worked on this boat before the guy tells me he remembers it well and that its a piece of junk that im lucky the engine hasent dropped out the bottom that the whole *** end is rotted out beyound repairs damn this was heart breaking i have bout 3000 usd invested i live in virginia are there any lemon laws for boats i havent talked to the friend i got it from yet not sure how to go about this any help would be nice or any words of wisdom people pls let me knoe

howlnmad

Petty Officer 2nd Class