1987 Bayliner Capri 1400 Project

Mark1400Capri

Recruit
Hello Everyone,

I'm new here, and this is my first post. Obviously it's about my 1987 Bayliner Capri 1400. For starters I did not pay a dime for this boat, it was free! And now I know why... It has a great hull, and the motor should work with a new coil pack, but it needs a whole lot of work all around.

I am new to boats, but have wanted one for a long time, so I am very excited to be able to take on this project. I grew up around cars, so I'm not learning from the beginning, I'm very handy, and very capable with tools. So I'm not afraid to take on the big things.

Now for starters, the whole deck is rotten out, every piece of wood in the deck needs to be taken out and replaced. Even the stringers, the cross supports that join into them were destroyed, so it spread into the stringers, and fouled them out. So with that being said, I must replace the stringers. Noticing that Bayliner has encased these in fiberglass, roughly 1/2 inch around the 3/4 inch wood stringer, I had thoughts of cutting the tops off and digging out the rotten wood with a chisel. Once dug out, replace the rotten stringers with new ones, in the channels made from where the old ones were encased, using industrial glue to make sure they are secure. Next, seal the tops with 6 oz. fiber and resin, not as thick as Bayliner made them, but enough to seal out the water. Then tighten them in, every 12 with 1/4-20 nuts and bolts, and cover them with fiber and resin.

If this is overkill or not enough please let me know. I think this will more than support the boat though.

Next I would like to fill in the places where the old deck cross supports connected to the stringers. So that the two pieces of wood are no longer able to touch. Then install new internal deck support, resin covered and glassed together, maybe some aluminum angle for making sure that the supports are at 90 degree angles and square. Again let me know if this is overkill.