7.4 volvo penta I/O vibration help!

thanasi

Cadet
I have a 99 chris craft 7.4 I/O AND PICKED UP A HEAVY THUMBING vibration yesterday, it even does it in neutral but more in drive and even more when the unit is all the way up. It is comming behind the motor, between the engine and outdrive. Engine still runs excellent I was still able to accelerate and bring the boat in, vibration/thumbing almost goes away at top speed. Can anyone tell me what would cause that and if it an easy fix. Is something loose or is there a bearing in there that goes bad. Thanks

Bondo

Staff member
Re: 7.4 volvo penta I/O vibration help!

Ayuh,... The U-joints, and/ or the Gimbel bearing....

thanasi

Cadet

Thank you, Do the u joints make the thumbing even in neutral? Is it an easy fix can i do it myself. I am a car mechanic. never worked on a boat.

Bondo

Staff member

Do the u joints make the thumbing even in neutral? Is it an easy fix can i do it myself. I am a car mechanic.

Ayuh,... It ain't too bad,... The U-joints turn With the motor...

thanasi

Cadet

Thanks AGAIN, what do i need to remove to get to them.

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,... The Drive...

thanasi

Cadet

Ayuh,... The Drive...

Can i do it or are there special tools required. I have every automotive tool required for vehicles. I there a link somewhere or service manual. we also have alldatapro in the shop ,however there is nothing about boats.

KJSmitty

Petty Officer 2nd Class

As stated above,

The u-joints/drive-shaft turn when ever the engine is running (whether in neutral or not). With the drive/tilt in the full up position the u-joints are articulating at their max - more so than when fully turning, thus the reason you get more noise in that position etc.

Have you ever had the drive removed and/or bellows replaced?

Which VP drive do you have (SX or Dual Prop)?