Complete transom rebuild 1973 Larson Shark

Nezlugh

Seaman Apprentice
I know I have seen post after post on transom rebuilds but I am new to a project as big as this so here goes. I took is out of the boat for replacement and found the wood in the transom was completely rotten and the glass was cracked in the outline of the mount for the 115 hp Evinrude motor. There has been several cover-up repairs done so I cut out the glass and removed the original wood(2-1/2" plywood laminated together.

Here is my Plan:
1) HD Exterior Ply x 2-1/2" laminated together with PL for transom. Finished with 3oz woven cloth and Polyester resin (read somewhere it is more rigid).
? There is not enough room behind the splash-well to go any thicker - if the pics post you will see it - can I add another thickness the size of the cut out to make it thicker? Or should I go with the original thickness?

2)Can I continue with Poly and 1708 to rebuild the laminate on transom since I started with it or I was considering using 635 Medium epoxy from US Com.?

Thanks in advance for your input!!

Pics not working I'll try later!!

Last edited:

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
Re: Complete transom rebuild 1973 Larson Shark

Welcom to iBoats!

Sounds like you are on the right track for your transom rebuild.
Epoxy is much stronger than poly. 1708 Biax is easy to use and much stronger than regular cloth. I would try and stay with the original thickness but maybe consider using the 1708 biax even if I had to use a 1/2 inch piece and a 3/8 inch piece.

Check out my post on how to post your pics.
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=410147

Good Luck!!!!;)

Nezlugh

Seaman Apprentice

The 635 by US Comp. is a thin epoxy, do I need a thicker epoxy to build up the outside layer of the transom where it will be done on the vertical?

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner