72 Aristocraft 19' Vs. 78 Wellcraft Nova 250 XL For First Boat

nick3757

Cadet
First off, I've been a lurker here for a while and now I have a question. I'm 20 years old and I'm looking for a boat. I've done quads, bikes, cars and trucks but I'm new to boating. I found a 1972 Aristocraft 19' boat with a 4 cylinder mercruiser in it. It needs a carb rebuild and thats it. It's very solid with a nice interior and a sliding hard top. He is asking $1200 for it. The other choice that my dad thinks I should get is a 78 Wellcraft Nova 250 XL. It has twin 350's and one of the alpha outdrives needs a bearing. It does not have any cushions in the cuddy either. The seller is asking $3000 for it and my father is willing to go half on it with me.

I'm leaning towards the Aristocraft because I have a jeep grand cherokee and there is no way I could tow a 25' boat with it. The problem is my dad said that the Aristocraft wont be able to get up on a plane and it won't ride very well. He also said that because it is a hardtop it will be too hot in the sun on the boat.

Does anybody have any input on which one I should get or any experiences with either one?

Andy'sDelight

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 72 Aristocraft 19' Vs. 78 Wellcraft Nova 250 XL For First Boat

The Nova weights 5000 dry per the original specs.

http://www.iboats.com/Wellcraft_Marine__250_Nova_XL__1978/bp/64b101304r2

The highest tow rating I have ever seen for a Jeep Grand Cherokee V8 is 7400 lbs. When you throw in the weight of the trailer, fuel, gear, etc.. you're just cuttung it way too close. Congrats to you for being the responsible party and tell your father you are not willing to put your lives or the lives of others around you at risk trying to tow a boat that is way too heavy for your vehicle. Either have your old man buy a stronger truck, buy the Aristocrat if you like it, or wait and see if you can find a boat that is a little more manageable for you to tow.