tilt/trim will not raise?

MartyL

Cadet
I am new to site as well as this particular boat. It has a 5.7 mercruiser with alpha outdrive. I have looked around on here and seen a lot of useful info but my situation is a little different. The trim will go down all the way and the trailer switch will raise all the way up but when you start from all the way down and push the up switch it only raises about two to three inches and then stops. Like I said it will raise some and then stop but the trailer switch will raise it all the way up. Please help any suggestions would be appriciated

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
Re: tilt/trim will not raise?

That's the trim section for when your running.It's to raise the bow for better performance.
You just have to use both at one time.J

bigdaddypt

Petty Officer 1st Class

I am new to site as well as this particular boat. It has a 5.7 mercruiser with alpha outdrive. I have looked around on here and seen a lot of useful info but my situation is a little different. The trim will go down all the way and the trailer switch will raise all the way up but when you start from all the way down and push the up switch it only raises about two to three inches and then stops. Like I said it will raise some and then stop but the trailer switch will raise it all the way up. Please help any suggestions would be appriciated

That's normal. There's a trim interrupt switch on the side of your outdrive that stops it. As Marty said, the purpose of the bow up/down is to enhance planing and performance. After that limit, you risk damaging the u-joints in the drive by operating motor.

MartyL

Cadet