Can't find the prop I am lookin' for????

ljenks

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 4.3 carbed Mercruiser with an Alpha 1 outdrive. The #'s on my current prop are 832834A45P23. From what I have found the diameter is
14ish & the pitch is 23. Please correct me if I am wrong!!!

I am looking for a little more bottom end out of my boat & think that I should try going down to a 22 pitch??? Again, correct me if I am wrong.

So, I think I have decided that I would like to try a 4 blade aluminum prop before I spend alot of money on a stainless.

The problem is I have just looked on here & in my overtons catalog & can't find the first aluminum prop for my boat in a 14x22.....Am I looking at something wrong here????

ljenks

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Can't find the prop I am lookin' for????

Ok... I am new to all of this.

Is the pitch of a prop only sold, or made in odd numbers???

i.e. I can get a 14x23 or a 14x21, but not a 14x22???

Which would bring me to another question. I think if I go from a 23 pitch to a 21 pitch, that will be too much bottom end. Think so???

Thanks for the input guys.

foodfisher

Captain

I'm jackin, Once upon a time there was hwsiii, he had all the answers. Hope all is well.

bob johnson

Rear Admiral

Ok... I am new to all of this.

Is the pitch of a prop only sold, or made in odd numbers???

i.e. I can get a 14x23 or a 14x21, but not a 14x22???

Which would bring me to another question. I think if I go from a 23 pitch to a 21 pitch, that will be too much bottom end. Think so???

Thanks for the input guys.

well few places will carry every prop....especially the standard makers...

you can go with a custom prop or the specialty prop makers and get anything you want!!!

if you look at all the different makers you might find the pitch youd like to try..but the different styles of props could negate or doublr your intended change!!!

you didnt list the WOT rpms of your motor...so no one would hazzard a guess to say if it is ok to go to 21!!!