Prop Pitch Question for 4.3L Volvo

93b18civic

Cadet
I have a 97 Larson Flyer 17' runabout. I just bought it last week and have a couple questions about the prop. It has a 21 pitch prop on it right now. I think that the RPM's should stay @ 4800 or below. I am getting 5k solid at WOT. Is this safe?!? I wouldn;t mind a 19 pitch to get a little better holeshot. The holeshot is good now but i feel it could be better with a 19P but i fear over revving. Is this a valid concern or am i being too cautious? LMK as i am new to boating. Thanks in advance for your help.

93b18civic

Cadet
Re: Prop Pitch Question for 4.3L Volvo

Forgot to state that it is a 19P Aluminum 3 blade prop. Sorry

Swishguy

Seaman Apprentice

Your gonna overrev about another 3-400 rpm with a lower pitch prop.

steelespike

Supreme Mariner

If you want better hole shot and stay close to your present rpm a 4 blade Solas Amita in a 20' pitch should put you close to your present rpm and imprive hole shot and stay on plane with less power.It may lower your top speed slightly.

93b18civic

Cadet

If you want better hole shot and stay close to your present rpm a 4 blade Solas Amita in a 20' pitch should put you close to your present rpm and imprive hole shot and stay on plane with less power.It may lower your top speed slightly.

Is this an Aluminum prop or Stainless?
I was told to stay aluminum to reduce chances of Lower Unit impact damage as aluminum will break/chip as to where Stainless will not thus damaging the lower unit. Is this true? Or was i fed a line of poop.

93b18civic

Cadet

Would a 21P 4 blade Aluminum prop make a noticeable difference in comparison to the 21P 3 blade Aluminum one that i currently have? Just trrying to get a grasp on this, It is the first boat i have owned with power at all and i want to get the most out of it for my needs. Top speed isn't everything, need a good holeshot but don't want to have to worry about over revving it.