*First Post* Is my boat big enough to tow a skier?

Lammage

Recruit
Hi guys,

I have a 4 meter flatacraft rib with a 40 hp yamaha engine on it with a top speed of 46mph (on the sat nav). What sort of size person would I be able to pull with it do you think? I've never water skied before but I have been skiing for 13 years and I'm a part time ski instructor and I'd like to give this a go.

Thanks Jason

HappierWet

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: *First Post* Is my boat big enough to tow a skier?

I would guess that a skier of any size is going to pull this boat as soon as they're out of the wake.

convergent

Petty Officer 1st Class

I'm sure someone has skied behind a boat this size and power, but it would be really hard to learn with since you may get dragged a lot more when trying to get up, vs. a more powerful boat that could more quickly get the job done. Also, your snow skiing experience is of virtually zero value in learning to water ski... in fact it actually may work against you. I've tried to teach some very athletic folks that were good snow skiers and it was a lot harder than trying to teach someone with no experience in anything. Completely different.

skibrain

Senior Chief Petty Officer

I've skied behind all kinds of stuff (hp ranging from 15, 20, 40 115, up to 375) and there is no harm in giving it a try.

With that kind of top speed (46 mph) on your RIB you are probably running a 19" pitch prop at least. That is good for speed and a light load. Not so good for the challenge of getting a skier up (sort of like only having 3rd or 4th gear in your car).

I'd look into a used power prop for you 40 outboard. 17" or 15" pitch is going to give you more hole shot and a crappy top end with the risk of over-revving so you need to keep an eye on rpms at wide open throttle if you prop down. It will be more successful for pulling an adult skier.