Merc 115 hp 6 cyl not starting - water in carb?

gregtobin

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I have a 1977 Glassmaster with 1973 Merc 115 outboard. For fuel, I use three 6-gal tanks placed under the transom.

At the end of last summer, I switched tanks out on the river and there must have been some water sucked up from the tank as the inline filter looked a little milky and then clogged. I was not able to restart and paddled back in. Once home, I cleaned out the fuel lines, installed a new filter, and tried again with new gas. Wouldn't start or cough. Sprayed ether into carbs and then it would start, but not run - only runs long enough to burn the starter fuel.

Finally got to work on it this weekend and I'm still at the same stage. The engine starts with the starter spray and runs like a champ for 3-5 seconds (I spray into the carbs, then walk over and start it - I can't reach far enough to spray while cranking.).

will now look for new fuel lines, filter, and bulb and fresh gas.

Any suggestions? I was going to remove the carbs to see if they were gunked up, but figure that I should hold off on this until I get advice. I have three carbs. Maybe the middle one would be the most likely problem?

Thanks!
Greg

njrextreme

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Merc 115 hp 6 cyl not starting - water in carb?

I have a 1977 Glassmaster with 1973 Merc 115 outboard. For fuel, I use three 6-gal tanks placed under the transom.

At the end of last summer, I switched tanks out on the river and there must have been some water sucked up from the tank as the inline filter looked a little milky and then clogged. I was not able to restart and paddled back in. Once home, I cleaned out the fuel lines, installed a new filter, and tried again with new gas. Wouldn't start or cough. Sprayed ether into carbs and then it would start, but not run - only runs long enough to burn the starter fuel.