Help please! 90hp johnson Issues

wgeorge

Cadet
My 13 year son just bought his first boat with his lawn mowing $$$, got it home and tried it out today...It seems to have a few problems (1989 90 hp vro 4 cyl) and I'm starting to think that me and my son got hood winked... The engine looks very clean but upon close inspection I found that a lot of it has been repainted pretty well, maybe hiding things.

The Main Concern...I did a compression check (i didnt do it warmed up and will tomorrow) but 3 of the chambers are all around 100-110, but one (top right) has only 85 lbs. When I had the plugs out I looked inside and you can see two little angular dings in the top of the piston on that 85lb chamber?? I'm not an expert, but this doesnt seem good? Is this a serious problem to be concerned about, is there a broken ring in there?? The seller told us that the compression was checked and was fine and the same in all cyl....but this doesnt seem to be the case.

Concern #2 I don't know if this is related, but when we test drove the boat, It starts fine and runs well especially at high speed, but at low speed it begins to bog itself down and after a little while it eventually quits. it will start right up again and if you speed up, it jumps up to speed, does not go there gradually, and if you speed up before it starts to bog down again your fine. But you seen to have to push by the just above idle speed and then it gets going??? Maybe this is related, maybe the carbs need cleaning and its just a tune up issue???

Concern #3 The cooling water coming out of the side stream is cold, not even warm, and if you touch the heads after its warmed up, they are cool as can be. At first I thought good, not overheating, but then I wondered if that is actually a problem??