Regal Rush-Sport Jet 90 questions?? spark and starting out of water

dmball

Seaman Apprentice
Hi all, this is my first post of this forum. sorry if it is in the wrong forum section. I got a 94 regal rush with a merc sport jet 90 a few weeks ago and it has run great for about 10 hours I have used it. I put it in the water yesterday and it would not start. Fired up once for about 15 seconds. Now it just cranks over with no cylinders firing. I did a quick spark check and found no spark. I am going to try and get a flush kit fitting tomarow so i can start it out of water to be able to diagnose my no start concern. Now my questions I have.

1. If my engine is not running but I am cranking it to diag. the problem. Do I turn the water on to the flush kit when it is cranking but not running? Or turn it on once it starts?

2.When I try to diagnose my no spark concern. Is a mac automotive dmm rated at 1000volts cat3 going to work the same as a dva?(I am an auto tech and got a new dmm for hybrid vehicals) I am not sure what a dva is? I am a boat/2 stroke newb lol

3.I have a clymer sop manual. But for a no spark concern should I first unhook the black/yellow wire from rev limit box and try it? seems to be common from some other post I have read. Any other quick checks I should make?

kend301

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Regal Rush-Sport Jet 90 questions?? spark and starting out of water

OK here we go ! :D First of all I need to know which stator you have , black or red . Black stator will have a blue and red wire coming out from the flywheel and connecting to the switchbox , Red stator will have green/white and white/green going to an adapter and then a single blue going to the switchbox. Unless you have the CDM conversion in which case you will not have a switchbox , so post that up also.
Here are the steps for the red stator (most popular) if you have a black one post it and I will send diag and readings for it .

1. Check all grounds.