Help with forming stringers to hull

jimmywayne

Seaman Apprentice
Hi everyone. Im rebuilding a 86 SeaRay Seville bowrider. Im new to this. Im the greenhorn to boat building i would say. Im rebuilding the entire boat transom stringers and deck. The stringer intersects the chines at the front of the boat. The stringers before was the consistency of potting soil with earth worms slithering in the boat. I had a continous fish bait system. LOL But Anyway i couldnt use the old stringers as a template since they were mush. So i used the post and scribe method to trace the stringers. As thats how Ooops used that method to build his stringers. So I went to install the stringer in the boat and it did not fit. So i cut the area around the chine on the stringer to where it would fit. Im afraid i cut off to much now as i got a little careless with the saw. I know that the stringer shouldnt touch the hull as there will be pressure points. Im going to bed the stringers when i install them for good. The gap around the chine to stringer is about one inch. the stinger fits the hull good rest of the way. I was planning on using PL adhesise to bed the sringers. The question is should the stringer wood go into the chine with the exact shape of the hull. or could i leave it like this and fill the one inch gap between the chine with peanut butter. Would peanut butter fill this gap? I could see a 1/4 inch but an inch seems like alot to me. Or should i just leave the gap between the chine how it is now and wrap it with glass? I appreciate any advice very much. Have a good day.

109jb

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Help with forming stringers to hull

Just fill it. It will be fine.

jimmywayne

Seaman Apprentice