Waterskiing with back injury?

lonemust

Petty Officer 1st Class
I was wondering everyones thoughts on skiing with a back injury. I herniated my back in aug '09, Had surgery in Feb'10. Do any of you folks thing I will be able to try to waterski. I am a novice at it, I have always wanted to learn how but noone would teach me. They would offer to teach me then when time come they would not do it, so I was determined to teach myself until this flippin' injury. It was my stupidity that cause the injury. Something I have done routinely foe 15 1/2 years. Then one day pop there it goes I destroyed my lower back. Any how I was just wondering anybodied thoughts on w/skiing after back surgery. Oh ya I also found out I have degenerative disc disease. Any and all thoughts about it are welcome and appreciated. THANK YOU

Yellow Yota

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Waterskiing with back injury?

This is a question for your doctor. Not us!!!

Degenerative disc can be real painful, or not too bad if you take care of it. I have the same condition, but with the correct exercises and minor modifications in how I do some stuff, I'm good to go.

Check with your doctor or chiro. Whoever you're having help you with this.

lonemust

Petty Officer 1st Class

This is a question for your doctor. Not us!!!

Degenerative disc can be real painful, or not too bad if you take care of it. I have the same condition, but with the correct exercises and minor modifications in how I do some stuff, I'm good to go.

Check with your doctor or chiro. Whoever you're having help you with this.

Nerosurgeon won't answer this ? that's why I was asking what y'all about it. The physical therapist to try it if it hurts don't do it.

oldjeep

Admiral

You can't get a qualified answer from random people on the internet. If your medical people say to give it a try, then go for it if you are willing to live with the potential consequences. I'm guessing that they will have a laundry list of possible risks.