Concrete ?'s

SS MAYFLOAT

Admiral
I'm planning on pouring a small concrete wall 3' high at one end of my flower garden. It slopes down at one end of my house and I thought about pouring a concrete wall instead of doing block. It will be "L" shaped. The length will be 6' on the long and 4' on the short. It will be 4" thick with about a foot below grade. There will only be about a foot and half of fill dirt behind the wall to level out the garden.

So here is my question. I plan on using sakrete or quickrete. I have a couple of bags of portland cement. If I mix some portland cement in with the sakrete, will it make it stronger? or will it cause premature failure? I'm not a pro at this. Ususally the stuff I've poured in the past comes from a truck. I do have a cement mixer which should help make things a bit easier. The concrete companies around here won't haul anything less than 3 yards. Thanks...........SS

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Concrete ?'s

Ayuh,... Howdy SS,..... Adding portland will strengthen it somewhat, although it's probably unnecessary...
Common sackcrete is 5000lb. mix I believe...

4" is a rather skinny wall,... Maybe some steel to reinforce it would do better than adding portland....

dwco5051

Commander

Sakrete or Quickcrete comes in different grades. Their highest strength mix I recall is 5000psi and as would be expected is more expensive. By buying the less expensive mix and adding 2 pounds of portland per 40# sack will increase the strength and save a few bucks since you already have the portland on hand. Adding too much will not increase the strength but can be detrimental to the actual strength.

joed

Lieutenant Junior Grade

I don't see a need to add anything to the Sakcrete. I would add a couple of rebar around the corner. The L corner is going to be a crack point.

dockwrecker

Lieutenant