Help..I need a plan of attack for my new Merc 1150

AntelopeWI

Cadet
Hello everyone,

I just got a boat with a 1973 Mercury 1150 Thunderbolt on it. 115 hp.
I was told, "the engine needs some work." Whatever that means.

I would like some guidance on how to go about checking this thing out and getting it going again. I have never worked on a boat motor before, but have worked with other small engines and am pretty handy so I am looking forward to this challenge. I have the seloc manual for it.

I would love some experienced advice on the steps I should take and in what order. I figure I should replace the water pump, check compression, overhaul the carbs, maybe do the fuel pump. You will see in the pics that the distributor is disconnected. Do I need to get that back on before testing compression? Don't want to burn anything out by doing things in the wrong order.

Can you guys take a look at these pictures and give me some advice on where to start. Sorry for all the pics, but I know it is hard to give any advice without seeing what I'm working with.

Here you can see the distributer is off. The ring to couple it together came with the boat.
IMG_1329.jpg

IMG_1333.jpg

IMG_1332.jpg

IMG_1334.jpg

THis cable was laying on the bottom of the engine under the distributor. Not sure where it goes. Thought maybe it was a ground for the distributor or something?
IMG_1341-1.jpg

Sparkplug wires taped up
IMG_1330-1.jpg

AntelopeWI

Cadet
Re: Help..I need a plan of attack for my new Merc 1150

Other side.. Wires look a bit rough.
IMG_1338.jpg

IMG_1339-1.jpg

IMG_1352-2.jpg

That little tube looking thing on a spring next to the starter looks suspicious.
IMG_1340-1.jpg

IMG_1357.jpg

AntelopeWI

Cadet

This plate came with the boat. Looks to go on the engine. Any idea where?
IMG_1354.jpg

IMG_1355.jpg

Some shots of the carbs
IMG_1337.jpg

IMG_1336.jpg

IMG_1335-1.jpg

A pic with the cover on and my future co-captain sitting by.
IMG_1325.jpg