I'm New with a Glastron.

geraba

Cadet
Hey guys, like the title says i'm new here and I had a 1980 Glastron HPV 165 GIVEN to me. it has an Evinrude 115 outboard on it. The poor thing has sat outside since 2000 with no cover and the plug left in it pretty stupid i thought. I got the plug out and washed the 10 years of blow dirt out of it and after I cleaned it up i sucked out the tank and cleaned up the engine and it fired right up! I couldn't belive it. So the floor is bad and so is the vinyl. I really like this boat and think it will be a great one for everything i need. Unfortunately I don't see any good way to get to the transome with out removing the top half of the boat. It looks to me when this thing was built the floor and carpet was all installed first and then the cap of the boat was put on. Any advise for me from anybody would be great.

archbuilder

Vice Admiral
Re: I'm New with a Glastron.

Welcome to I-boats. You aren't alone here with the glastron's, you might check out Frisco's thread.

http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=358277

On that type of boat you will most likely have to split the hull. Its not as bad as it sounds, there are a lot of examples of that on here. If the floor is gone, the stringers and transom have probably had it too. You might also take a look at Mick's thread, he has well documented a top off restore. He opted for the seacast transom and stringers, but you can always use plywood depending on your budget.

http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=365820

How about a couple of pics? If you have questions, you have found the right place. Good luck with the restore!

SnowHunter

Petty Officer 1st Class

Welcome!!! :)

Yes, pics!!! Just keep em to 640x480!

Free boats aint really free ;) But, they're usually a labor of "love" :D

geraba

Cadet

How do you upload pictures, I'm not real computer wise.

geraba

Cadet

no I didn't use that oil in the engine.

Attachments

• Car Show, Boat and other 023.jpg