Water shooting out of motor

acollins74

Cadet
1994 Mercury 75 HP.
Coming home this afternoon, i noticed my motor was sluggish as if I were driving a Stick Shift with a bad clutch. The motor seemed to be running fine but I couldn't hit top speeds and noticed the hot buzzer went of when I tried to WOT. Plenty of water coming out of pee hole as expected.
When I got home, i pulled the cap when i flushed the motor to check things out. Well in the rear of the motor water was squirting out of the side (head gasket?) as well as water was still coming out of the pee hole as expected.
I am thinking i blew the head gasket but I can't find anyone else that had a blown head gasket and also had plenty of water shooting out of the pee spout also.

Does this sound like my head gasket is blown/broken?
It seems fairly straight forward to pull that part of the motor but do not know the torque nor the order.
Also, I'm a little nervous of what caused the issue in the first place. I'm a noob to mechanics really but don't want to bring the boat in because I do not know which shop to take it over. Mostly marinas where I live and I don't have alot of cash. Thoughts?

SparkieBoat

Captain
Re: Water shooting out of motor

get a manual...has all the info you need, also find out why it over heated..could be clogged water passage , t-stat, or water pump, i would fix/replace all 3.

acollins74

Cadet

replace all three!! Sparieboat, you must be a salesman.
Water pump is not the issue. Water is pumping fiercly and never has been clogged. Could be T-Stat but the question still remains. Why is water shooting out of the back of the motor. Could a bad head gasket be the cuprit if water is still coming out of the pee hole?

SparkieBoat

Captain