need expert advice please

I am new to boating, have never owned one, but recently acquired one that is in worse shape than I thought.

Its a very long story & wont bore you with it, but the boat doesn't have an outdrive. I would have never taken possession of it if I had known, I thought it was in storage, truth comes out that it is not to be found.

The block was cracked, so the engine was taken apart & a used 4.3 truck block was acquired to build back. The guy went through a divorce & everything got stored, engine dismantled, and outdrive obviously got carried away through the years.

It's a 92 Sunbird Corsair. The boat interior is complete, just needs some TLC, floor is in great shape, no rotted spots. Body is great. All the engine parts are here, manifolds, marine heads, etc...and have a 4.3 truck block to replace the cracked marine one.

But the complete OMC Cobra outdrive is gone, upper & lower unit. I don't know boating lingo all that well, so I was hoping some of you experienced guys could help me figure if it was worth trying to find a used one & rebuild it, or a lost cause. I hear they are kinda hard to find. I dont know which ones will interchange, or anything like that.

Since I have $0 invested in the boat, and the body is in good shape, what do I need to do to determine if it's worth sinking any money into?

Thanks to anyone who can chime in with advice

Juniinc

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: need expert advice please

Yes, they are hard to find,,,
even if U do find one(used), they are expensive.
I've seen them go from 1000~1500 on CL.
Great opportunity to slap a new SEI conversion.

so this is just a company that makes new outdrives? Looks like $1,500 is the goin' price. That seems cheap. You cant usually find a used OMC for that price. What am I missing?