Purpose of props

Searay32

Recruit
I just bought a stainless steel turbo prop. it is a 14 1/4 by 22 pitch. I was wondering if anyone could tell me the general purpose of this prop. i have an idea but not really sure since i am new to the boating world. Thanks

QC

Supreme Mariner
Re: Purpose of props

Well I am going to resist the obvious "to make it go" response. Oops, there I did it anyway . . . Welcome aboard Searay32, sorry, couldn't help it :)

I guess I'd suggest we need some more info as there are a few props called Turbos. Generally they are a three blade prop and the 22 pitch tells me somewhat hi speed intention. Tell us some more about your setup. What did you buy it to do? What is it doing? What isn't it doing?

Searay32

Recruit

I have an alpho one outdrive and the prop that i am replacing is a 14 by 21 pitch. The motor in my boat is only 3.0 liter. I really just bought the prop cause i got a real good deal on it. What i am really wanting to know is if the prop is for speed,tork,, or more top end. I know there are all kinds of props out there for different things.

QC

Supreme Mariner

Yeah, but there are different types of Turbo's too. Need to know your WOT RPM, GPS speed, boat make, size and type to really help you the answer to that question. Three blade, stainless like that is usually more for top speed and good cruising, but not really hole shot.

Searay32

Recruit

Sorry it took me soo long to reply but thanks for the advice so far. I have a 1998 Searay runabout 175br. It is 18 1/2 ft with a 3.0 liter 135 horsepower. At WOT i am at aboutu 4500 rpms at about 50mph with only two people in the boat. The main reason im asking what this type prop is good for is im just hoping i made a good decision in buying since i really didnt know what i was buying at the time. I mostly just ski and tube in the boat with the majority being just cruising in the boat. Hope I gave yall some info that might help tell me what this prop is good for. Thanks:)

Dhadley