Advice on a 1973 70hp Chrysler (Pictures Added)

nathanhooper

Petty Officer 2nd Class
So here is the story. This may be a little long, but it will help to understand the issue I am faced with. I am looking for advice, what ever it may be. Those of you who have gone through this, and even if you have not. I just need to make a decision on what to do.

So last year my wife and I had a mini-van that ran, but was running ruff. I am not a car mechanic by any means, but I do know my way around an engine. I personally do not like cars because they are much bigger, heavier, and more complicated that small engines. Yes, I do understand the difference between 2 stroke and 4 stroke, so that helps with working on outboards.

So the story goes that we no longer needed the van, it was paid for, and so instead of trying to fix it up and sell it, I decided I might try to trade for a boat that I could fix up. It is smaller, I could tinker with it as I had time, and so on and so forth. Low and behold there was a guy that needed a minivan for his wife, and just so happened to have a boat for trade. I thought what the heck.

Went over to his house, well, not his house, but where he had the boat stored. And we looked it over. It needed some work, but it had real potential. The outboard looked good, but not being real familiar, I did not know what to look for. Boy do I wish I knew of this site before I had made a decision.

After deciding the boat would be worth fixing up, we turned our attention to the outboard. He assured me it ran, saying that he had it out on the lake not too long ago. He also said that he had just bought a new/used lower unit for it and was still under warranty. Just to make sure it ran he fired it up for a sec and then shut it off. I know at this point that doing that is not good on the engine, but I did not think of that then, and it was seriously only for a sec or two. But I am not claiming any excuses for my stupidity.