18 horse ignition problems NEED help please

griggs

Cadet
first off i graduated from wyotech with a degree in marine mechanics so im not stupid but i dont pretend to know everything either i have a 1965 evinrude fastwin 18 hp and im having problems with the ignition i replaced every component of the ignition about two years ago now i cant get it to be reliable enough to use sometimes it just looses spark i have tried everything i can think of and was considering changing it to cdi with parts from a 28 horse if it was possible:confused:please let me know if you have had these problems and fixed them succesfully or if it is possible to use the 28hp cdi stuff

moonfish

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 18 horse ignition problems NEED help please

I don't think there's a secret. You probably have a bad connection somewhere. I learned the coil can't touch the flywheel magnets when I did it.

jbjennings

Captain

Any chance the crank seal is leaking and slinging oil in your points? How about the oiling wick? Too much oil?
Is there a LOT of slack in the armature plate so that the points won't stay gapped right? Last of all, I have gotten coils that were bad from the factory. Are you able to clean the points, regap, and get spark again? If so, then it doesn't sound like the coils are bad.
I hope you figure it out,
JBJ

lindy46

Captain

Coils flush with the mounting bosses? If they are pushed in a little too far, you won't get consistent spark. Coil wire(s) pushed under and out of the way of the rotating shaft? I've seen them with insulation worn off and shorting out against shaft. Points clean? Any residue can cause fouling. Pug wires pushed firmly into coils?

restornator

Petty Officer 1st Class

you should know the answer to your last question.

griggs

Cadet

there is no oil on the points and i used the factory tool to set the coils all the wiring is new and ive checked all the connections

griggs

Cadet