The 1984 Stratos 355v Rebuild....Oh Brother

bigj1972

Cadet
Allright guys...I am going to rebuild my 1984 Stratos 355v. It's a 15.9 ft Bass Boat. I have very little experience and a whole lot of faith. I have already started the project so there will be a time gap..but I can get this thread started. Thanks to the lot of information at this forum, and the skill level I am at, I feel confident I can screw this up.:) This was the first year of Stratos production. So, hear are the pictures of the before....
mini-top.jpg

mini-side.jpg

mini-quater.jpg

There won't be too many fast updates due to my schedule, but I will try to maintain this thread.

bigj1972

Cadet
Re: The 1984 Stratos 355v Rebuild....Oh Brother

I don't have any pics of the previous work up til now. I stripped the hardware and carpet. Removed the rub guard and the screws. I didn't have a gantry crane or a helper, so I used a 6x6x12 post laid it on top of the boat end to end. Ratchet strapped the cleats to the post at each end. Then used a cherry picker in the center to lift off the top cap. If you can't imagine the picture, I will take one when putting the cap back on. The foam in the boat seemed to be dry except the bottom of it in the rear. I dug it all out with tools, about 6 trash bags full, and used a pressure washer to blast off the residues so I could see all the glass seams. That reaaly helped.
mini-hull.jpg

mini-overhead.jpg

At first look at the boat, there were no cracks in the transom skin, which I was lucky, because the transom was rotted. I used a shop vac and a crowbar to dig it out piece by piece. I wouldn't have waisted the time and just cut out the inner skin, but thought I would just Seacast it.
Then I learned more about floors on iBoats and thought I would dig deeper. There were two soft spots in the floor. Each in front of the seats. Well, long story short, stringers under each of these areas were rotted on the edges.
mini-center2.jpg