Evinrude 135 prop selection

trooperguy90

Recruit
First off, thanks in advance for your help and response. I greatly appreciate everyone's input. I have a 1976 Evinrude 135 Bubbleback on a 1975 17ft Glasstron V172 Fish and Ski. It has the stock aluminum 19P 3 blade prop on it. The prop was in decent shape until I hit something last weekend with it. Before last weekend I was hitting 5800-5900 RPM WOT at about 42mph (GPS) with 2 people on board, no gear, and swivel seats removed. With 2 people, 2 coolers, fishing gear and swivel seats, I was still getting 5800 RPM WOT and about 39mph (GPS). I was planning on getting a taller prop anyways since my WOT RPMs seemed high. I was looking at going to a new aluminum 21P prop, but I wasn't sure if I should get a 3 blade or 4 blade. I am open to some other suggestions. I would like to eventually get a SS prop, but I don't have the funds at this time. I am fairly new to boats and this is my first boat as well. FYI my motor runs very strong, I'm getting 145-150 psi in each cylinder and have new plugs. Again thanks for the help and feedback.

Matt

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Evinrude 135 prop selection

Ayuh,... Welcome Aboard,...

I don't know the recommended WOT rpms of your motor, but 6 grand sounds about Right...
Keep it proped where OMC says it Should run,...
Otherwise, Over-proping will cause it to lug,+ burn down the motor...

hwsiii

Commander

Matt, on the older motors the guys in the know recommend that you keep your RPM high with today's gas. I am showing your motor has a gear ratio of 2:1. please verify this.

I am showing your prop slip to be 21%, and that is high in my opinion.

Prop Slip
Trooperguy90Iboats.jpg

Try reading the following and check your anti ventilation plate height, and the get back with me and we will figure out what prop would be better with your setup.