NH boat law?

this forum wont let me

Seaman Apprentice
Hello everyone, I have a New Hampshire boater's guide in front of me and I am blown away with what I just read in it. I have been boating for a about 5 years now and every year I get this booklet just to keep up on my boating rules. Well Here in the book word for word. Who may operate a vessel? A vessel powered by more than 25 horsepower (other than a "ski craft") may be operated by

* A person under 16 years of age only if he or she is accompanied by a person 18 years old or older who has a valid safe boater education certificate. The accompanying person is responsible for any injury or damage caused during the operation of the vessel

*A person 16 years of age or older only if he or she has obtained a safe boater education certificate as required by the "Schedule for Boater Education"

Well yes I have my certificate for me as does my wife but why in the world would it be ok to let my nephew 14yrs old to drive my boat with me in it but not ok for my brother in law to drive the boat with me it? I just asked this question to my headquarter marine patrol and they just said to me the rules are the rules so my replay was great state slogan "LIVE FREE OR DIE" click... Now I must remind you folks not from around here come ride your motorcycle in our state you don't need your helmet if you don't want to. Just in case your thirsty on your ride home feel free to stop at one of rest areas that has a full liquor store in it. Everyone of age has the right to bare arms. But make sure if you are over 16 and want to drive a boat over 25 horse power you get your certificate even when a certificate holding adult is on board. Sorry for the bad gramer New Hampshire let me drop out of high SKOOL at a early age. Happy boating to all and to all a good day.

JimS123

Fleet Admiral
Re: NH boat law?

Makes sense to me.

You can let the minor drive under your supervision as long as you assume rersponsibility for him.