Can't get gearcase off 1978 6hp Evinrude

jtw29

Cadet
This is my first time working on an outboard so I'm sure there's something simple I'm missing. I'm trying to replace the impeller and thought the job was simple enough by just removing the gearcase to get at the water pump/impeller. I loosened the bolts and the gearcase feels loose but it won't drop down at all. I don't want to pull or pry for fear of breaking something or simply just missing something else that needs to be loosened or removed first. Do I have to remove the whole lower unit and THEN separate the gearcase? The manual is confusing because It covers so many different models/years. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

John

SparkieBoat

Captain
Re: Can't get gearcase off 1978 6hp Evinrude

you really need a better manual. should have been very easy to follow instructions on how to do this. you must disconnect your shifter linkage, I am not sure where to do it on that model, on the larger motors it is under the bottom carb... DO NOT FORCE IT..maybe someone could tell you right where to look..or reread your manual and see if you missed something.

jtw29

Cadet

The Seloc manual I have describes a pin in the upper drive shaft that must be aligned with grooves in the exhaust housing before the lower unit will drop down about an inch to allow access to the shifter release bolt. The problem is that no matter how I turn the flywheel/driveshaft, the lower unit will not drop down. If there was a way to know when the pin was aligned properly I wouldn't mind putting a little force on it to pull it down. But not knowing if the driveshaft is rotated to the proper position, I don't what to do that. Has anyone worked on this specific motor that might have any insight into the problem?

Thanks!

John

SparkieBoat

Captain