2000 Evinrude Ficht 175 fuel pump issues

PI-STIX

Recruit
Hello all, I have a 2000 Evinrude 175hp Ficht w/ ram on a 20' Eagle flats boat. I recently purchased the boat and had an issue as the engine would not get the boat on plane. I called the previous owner and his mechanic took care of the issue. He said it was the vapor separator / fuel pump and that the screen was clogged. We water tested her right after and she ran like a champ. A few days later, I went on a trip and had no issues until we decided to head home. She would idle just fine but would not get on plane again. Seems to me that it was the same issue. I watched the mechanic rebuild the separator the first time and realized (being a mechanic myself) that it wasn't that difficult. I had no problem removing or disassembling the pump. What I did notice is that both of the o-rings that were under the ?cap? where torn and had rolled from the last rebuild. The o-ring on the cap was missing altogether. This was causing water to enter the fuel system as this pump is water cooled. The dealer said I had to order the entire assembly and that I could not purchase o-rings for this pump anywhere. Now I?m not cheap but I just cannot bring myself to spend $700 on a fuel pump when all I really need are these o-rings. The pump in question is BRP# 0439347 (new # is 5004428) I?m not sure what the difference between the two is. Does anyone know where these o-rings can be purchased or if there are o-rings that will fit at all? They must be used in another application, right? Auto or industrial maybe? I will buy a new pump if I need too but I would rather spend that on the boat and fishing stuff. In addition, what is the likelihood of an injector or two going bad due to this issue and how can I tell if they are indeed bad? Thanks and tight lines! :(

Last edited:
D

DJ

Re: 2000 Evinrude Ficht 175 fuel pump issues

I will be merging your two posts.

D

DJ

Merged Post.