Need Help wiring a 3 position ignition switch to a 1962 40hp Johnson

CaptainRonn

Seaman Apprentice
Im brand new to this and I bought an old boat last year the motor didnt work so i bought an old 40 hp johnson now i have wire it to a differant type of ignition there are 10 wires but it only looks like 3 are connected to the motor 1 Black, 1 Grey, 1 Brown and theres 1 red/purple, 1 Purple, 1 Purple/Green, 1 Blue, 1 Green, 1 White and 1 Purple/White that are not connected at all. are these wires even connected properly and if so which wires go where in my 3 position ignition switch?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: Need Help wiring a 3 position ignition switch to a 1962 40hp Johnson

Use google go to mastertech marine there are some color codes and diagrams.
I can tell you the motor ignition is self generating magneto ign.There is a kill circuit only going to the ignition the off position on the switch grounds the point wires.
There is a starter solinoid wire and a choke wire If it is a outboard key switch it usually pushes in to activate the choke and will have a terminal for the kill circuit.
Sorry I can't be more specific but you may be able to figure it out from here.

tootallofwa

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Look at this thread. I explain in detail how to make it work. (towards the middle.)

http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=381307

OK so your wire colors are different. I described each wire on the power-head and where they connect and where they go.

If you have an electric choke instead of a temperature sender like I have on my "new to me" 62' 28hp Johnson. I used my lt-brown wire, connected it to the choke then ran it through to a lighted toggle switch powered by the the acc terminal and grounded by the lt-gray "unused ground" from the solenoid box.

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner

You cannot use a three (3) terminal ignition switch on that engine. Purchase the six (6) terminal ignition switch.

tootallofwa