where to get 2 part foam filler?

usedcarman

Cadet
Hi Guys,

First of all, I'm a newbie, new @ this site.

Recently purchased a 1990 Invader 15'6" fiberglass bow rider with a 100HP merc, I knew that the floor was a little soft. Thought it would be just a small job to replace the floor. Upon removal I noticed that the crossmembers and ribs were rotten too, and the foam waterlogged. I cut everything out, scraped out all the foam (and yes it's a hell of a job!). Now preparing to rebuild crossmembers and ribs, but I don't know where to get that 2 part foam I've been reading about in other posts about waterlogged foam. Don't really want to buy that canned stuff or cut pieces of home insulation foam, I'd like to put the same type of stuff back in there.

I'm a Canadian from Cornwall, Ontario, so if anyone knows where I could get this stuff I'd really appreciate it.

Thank you! :)

P.S.: What's this 5200 I read about too? Is it a sealer or some type of epoxy? Because I do have to screw in a transducer on the transom too, and I was going to use silicone, but from what I've read I guess I better not!

osborn159

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: where to get 2 part foam filler?

internet search for the 2 part foam, 5200 is a marine adhesive/sealant produced by 3m, very good stuff, others like another brand by the name sika, i use the 3m product cause ive always had good luck w/ it and can get it at lowes/depot at a fair price.

if you cant find 2 part foam look at fiberglassflorida.com for an idea of what your looking for, i am not endorsing them, although thats where i get my supplies from, shipping north of the border from here would kill you on the price anyway.

good luck, D

usedcarman

Cadet

Thanks a lot guys! Will do! By the way, what other use is it good for besides the obvious (flotation). Does it help structurally? Sound deadening? Just wondering.

Last edited:

osborn159

Petty Officer 1st Class